top of page

What is Tarot?

Updated: Nov 22, 2022

There are a total of 78 cards in a Tarot Deck. Tarot is a system with very specific numbering and classification for the cards included. This is what makes them different from Oracle Decks. Oracle Decks do not have a set number of cards or follow any particular system.

Tarot cards are divided into two sets:

Major Arcana: 22 Cards sometimes referred to as Trumps. The Major Arcana are about your life path. The journey begins with The Fool and Ends with The World. The road is long, twisty, and full of surprises. Major Arcana cards usually involve the big influences (or archetypes) that shape your life: love, hope, death, transformation, joy, traditions, desire, fear, loss, magic, and many more.

Minor Arcana: 56 cards divided into 4 Suits (Wands, Cups, Swords, & Pentacles). Each suit has 14 cards. The Ace through Ten show the full cycle of each suit. The 4 Court Cards (Page, Knight, Queen, & King) show mastery over the theme of each suit or potentially show a person who is influencing your current journey through the cycle of each suit.

An excellent way to 'reset' your cards is to put them back into their original order. Most decks follow the followi


Major Arcana


00. The Fool

01. I. The Magician

02. II. The High Priestess

03. III. The Empress

04. IV. The Emperor

05. V. The Hierophant

06. VI. The Lovers

07. VII. The Chariot

08. VIII. Strength

09. IX. The Hermit

10. X. Wheel of Fortune

11. XI. Justice

12. XII. The Hanged Man

13. XIII. Death

14. XIV. Temperance

15. XV. The Devil

16. XVI. The Tower

17. XVII. The Star

18. XVIII. The Moon

19. XIX. The Sun

20. XX. Judgment

21. XXI. The World


Minor Arcana


Suit of Wands

Ace of Wands

Two of Wands

Three of Wands

Four of Wands

Five of Wands

Six of Wands

Seven of Wands

Eight of Wands

Nine of Wands

Ten of Wands

Page of Wands

Knight of Wands

Queen of Wands

King of Wands


Suit of Cups

Ace of Cups

Two of Cups

Three of Cups

Four of Cups

Five of Cups

Six of Cups

Seven of Cups

Eight of Cups

Nine of Cups

Ten of Cups

Page of Cups

Knight of Cups

Queen of Cups

King of Cups


Suit of Swords

Ace of Swords

Two of Swords

Three of Swords

Four of Swords

Five of Swords

Six of Swords

Seven of Swords

Eight of Swords

Nine of Swords

Ten of Swords

Page of Swords

Knight of Swords

Queen of Swords

King of Swords


Suit of Pentacles

Ace of Pentacles

Two of Pentacles

Three of Pentacles

Four of Pentacles

Five of Pentacles

Six of Pentacles

Seven of Pentacles

Eight of Pentacles

Nine of Pentacles

Ten of Pentacles

Page of Pentacles

Knight of Pentacles

Queen of Pentacles

King of Pentacles


12 views0 comments


bottom of page